Maine’s Single-Use Plastic Bag Ban *New Effective Date 1/15/21

Maine’s bag ban law will be delayed until January 15, 2021. The state also occupies the field of regulation starting March 17, 2020. What that means is that current state law has no plastic bag bans or fees at retail. Retailers can use whatever bags are necessary and not have to collect fees during this crisis.

To view the Maine Department of Environmental Protection’s statement, visit their website.

Read More Read more Arrow

COVID-19 Resources for Retailers & Food Producers

The Maine Grocers & Food Producers Association is actively working with our government partners and members to provide an updated list of resources and guidance in response to COVID-19. We’ve compiled a list of up-to-date resources. We will continue to add information as it is received.

The Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention (Maine CDC) and 211 Maine announced on March 11th a new option for Mainers to get answers to questions about the 2019 novel coronavirus (COVID-19) at any time. This service is available by dialing 211 (or 1-866-811-5695), texting your ZIP code to 898-211, or emailing info@211maine.org.

Read More Read more Arrow

Federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products from 18 to 21 years

Update: As of January 15th, 2020 the FDA has released an additional statement. On December 20, 2019, the President signed legislation to amend the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, and raise the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products from 18 to 21 years. It is now illegal for a retailer to sell any tobacco product – including cigarettes, cigars and e-cigarettes – to anyone under 21. FDA will provide additional details on this issue as they become available.

For more information, visit: FDA.gov

Read More Read more Arrow

Maine DEP Issues Guidance on Upcoming Single Use Plastic Carry Out Bag Ban

This Maine Department of Environmental Protection has issued guidance to help retailers and grocers understand the new law taking effect in April of 2020. Please see the link for the guidance Q&A PDF. The plastic bag ban guidance describes 38 MRSA §1611, a statewide law regulating carry-out bags that includes a ban on point-of-sale single-use plastic bags and a small fee on recycled paper bags and on reusable bags made of plastic. The Department of Environmental Protection will update this guidance document as additional questions are received.

Read More Read more Arrow